Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 888-717-4211
Phone: 860-445-8521
Bartinik Law Firm, PC

Q
When is a DUI considered a felony in Connecticut

A

When is a DUI considered a felony?

In the State of Connecticut, any crime where the imposed penalty is less than 1 year is considered a misdemeanor and where the imposed penalty is greater than 1 year is considered a misdemeanor.

The Connecticut Supreme Court has stated that a second conviction of a DUI within a 10-year period is a felony because it carries with it a term of imprisonment of up to 2 years and does not fall within the motor vehicle violation exception to the definition of a criminal “offense.”

If you have been charge with DUI in Connecticut want to protect your rights, contact the DUI lawerys at The Bartinik Law Firm, P.C. at 860-445-8521 or toll free at 888-717-4211.  We handle DUI cases all of the the Eastern half of Connecticut including the greater New Haven area.  Our main office is in Groton, and we also have offices in Shelton, and East Berlin. 

Live Chat