Q What are the penalties for a DUI in Connecticut?
What are the penalties for a conviction of drunk driving in Connecticut?
Many people ask us about the various penaties for a DUI in Connecticut. The penalties depend upon the number of times the defendant has been convicted. Under new legislation as of 7/1/15, the penalties are as follows:
- 6 months jail, 48 hours which may not be suspended or reduced in any manner.
- 45 day license suspension, 1 year with an installed Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
- 2 years jail, 120 days which cannot be suspended.
- 45 day license suspension, 3 year IID, the first year is limited to work, school, treatment program, IID center or to see your probation officer.
- 3 years jail, 1 year which cannot be suspended.
- Permanent revocation of your license; however, you can petition to have the sentence reduced by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
Where to get help?
If you have been arrested for DUI in Connecticut contact the DUI lawyers at The Bartinik Law Firm, P.C., 100 Fort Hill Road, Groton, Connecticut at 860-445-8521 or toll free at 888-717-4211. We have offices in Groton, East Berlin, and Shelton, Connecticut.